Wouldn’t Accessible Kid Versions of These Books Be the Bee Knees?!

Wouldn’t Accessible Kid Versions of These Books Be the Bee Knees?!

As I move through Cheikh Anta Diop’s The African Origin of Civilization, I feel really compelled to turn some the lessons into kid friendly zen’s for the African Centered Child and those that specifically offer African Centered spaces for children of African descent to actualize themselve while also developing their own ethnic and racial identity development.  Though I am always having to queerify and Black feminize these texts as I read and as I teach from them, I just want them to be developmentally accessible.  In any case, this list is a great starting point for how seminal texts continue to shape Black consciousness but what would you add?  Me, I think I would start with:

Dorthy Roberts, Killing the Black Body;

Patricia Hills Collins, Black Feminist Thought;

Incite Women of Color, The Color of Violence;

Committee On Women, Population and the Environment, Dangerous Intersections and Policing the National Body

All Angela Davis is good too!

Leave a comment